top of page

Art is from the heart....


Art comes from what touches the heart. I always start with a subject that moves me in some way. The work becomes a true love story when you bring it to completion. This may seem a bit dramatic to some, but to the artist, it's truth. It could be a response to color, to a design, to life itself - but it always starts and ends with an emotional response to the subject matter. So when you stop to view a work of art, and something in you responds to it, you are connecting with that energy the artist put on the canvas.

This piece was just completed and given to my son and his fiance as a wedding gift. They will be getting married in September. I had these photos of them separately and really loved how they seemed to be connected to the beautiful scenery around them and how it had a somewhat meditative quality about it. How often have we all just looked off towards the ocean and have been whisked off somewhere deep inside ourselves. There's something about nature that makes us able to make this journey. I believe its a connection to my maker that allows this to happen to me....for some it may be something totally different...but it magically happens to most. That's the feeling I got from these photos and I thought about how they were venturing into a new chapter of life with one another, with an ocean of new adventures and opportunities ahead of them to share. It doesn't hurt that the bride loves the beach either. It's actually a beach in Bermuda but it could be any beautiful beach....say Hawaii where they will be going for their honeymoon.

This was truly "a creation" for me as I used bits and pieces of visual data and set out to create a particular atmosphere with design and color choices, paint strokes and scrapes. I love this piece for what it means to me and how the creative process felt. So you could say, the gift of art is love.

"New horizons"


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page