top of page

Happiest of Holidays

In the spirit of the season, I've been painting poinsettias and festive interiors. Well, it also has to do with the fact that the weather has changed and painting outdoors is somewhat limited now. I visited a local greenhouse with my plein air friends and was overwhelmed by the enormous varieties of poinsettia plants that they were growing for the upcoming holiday season. They were just absolutely gorgeous - knowing I couldn't paint them all in one day, I started snapping pictures of all the different varieties. I started a couple of paintings in the greenhouse and finished them home in the studio using palette knives. They are rich and delicious paintings and this is where they are at the moment. There are some adjustments I still want to make.













A few weeks after, we visited a lovely mansion that is used for weddings and other affairs. The grounds were just beautiful especially the day we came with the glistening new fallen snow all about. I was overtaken by the beauty and compelled to start a painting outdoors despite the freezing cold. Thankfully, the sun was out so it made it a tad more tolerable. I laid the groundwork for that painting but soon after moved to the warmth inside to start another painting. The place was decorated for the Christmas holidays in grand style. The centerpiece of the mansion was this majestic staircase. I focused in on that but thought afterwards this might be too challenging. Well I was right - it was challenging. It was also a delight. Again, still some adjustments to make on this one but it's pretty close to complete.


I end the year proud of what I have accomplished and look forward to the new year ahead and the challenges that it will bring. Hoping I'll get better at this blogging business and sharing what may be useful to others. Wishing that you all continue to have a very blessed holiday season. I thank you for sharing my art journey and am looking forward to more of the same in 2020.



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page